seththury

most money spent on seeds

SethThury
9 years ago

just wondering what was most you have spent seeds, me 50$

Comments (20)

• Chris
    9 years ago

I spent $75 but this is my first year with a full garden so the fiance and I got a little carried away.

This post was edited by ChrisHashtags on Thu, Jan 15, 15 at 13:30

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    9 years ago

$1800+, but I am a market gardener with 1 acre and 6 high tunnels in production year around.

• nexev - Zone 8b
    9 years ago

Most on 'A' seed was $1.00 each for a few giant pumpkin seeds that will get a spot in this years garden, well on the fringes anyhow.

Most total was this last year as The Wife, Daughter and I all kept adding to every order. We are probably in around $600 total for seed and are hoping to do at least a quarter acre of garden and maybe do some market garden this year.

One thing we really went for when ordering seeds is flowers to intermix a variety throughout the garden.

• fusion_power
    9 years ago

I spend about $500 per year on seed. I also produce seed for my own use and for sale which keeps my total down quite a bit. If I had to purchase all the seed I plant every year, I would easily spend $3000 or more. I run a seedling plant operation and have to have quite a diverse listing of tomatoes and peppers for plant sales.

• wayne_5 zone 6a Central Indiana
    9 years ago

I have spent about $ 150 this year.

9 years ago

I have spent about $ 150 this year.

• pbilek
    9 years ago

I usually spend around $50 each year and feel guilty I spend that much. Guess this puts it in to perspective.

• bardamu_gw
    9 years ago

Seeds are usually cheaper than dirt. Good dirt. But the most expensive seed I ever purchased was two years ago, European mandrake seeds for an obscene price. This year, I bought something like 10 sweet treat cherry tomato seeds for 3.50 which is out of this world by my reckoning.

• Happy Hill Farm
    9 years ago