Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
merryp_gw

Can I be productive on terrace north side?

merryp
10 years ago

Hello! I am moving to Barcelona, Spain and would like to grow as many vegetables as possible on my ground floor terrace. My question: What will and won't be possible for a nice vegetable and herb garden lasting as long as possible?

The the apartment I most love has a sizable terrace which is oriented northwest in the large courtyard for a block of buildings. I am told it has:
- 6 hours of direct sun from 1 pm to 7 pm in the summer months, June-September
- 4 hours direct sun in the late spring and early autumn
- 2 hours direct sun in the early spring or late autumn.
- No direct sun for 3-4 months (November-February).
The photo above was taken in December.

I am relatively new to urban gardening, having previously grown in the ground on the south side of my home in Michigan, with a much more limited growing season than I will have in Barcelona. I have read much on container gardening, but I am having trouble determining how limited I will be by the sun conditions for this north facing terrace.

Will I do alright, or should I strongly consider waiting for an apartment with a south facing terrace so that I can produce more food in more months? Thanks!

This post was edited by merryp on Sun, Jan 26, 14 at 14:05

Comments (13)

• zzackey
    10 years ago

6 hours of sun sounds like enough to grow almost anything.

• glib
    10 years ago

I disagree. if it were 6 hours for six months, yes. But it is six hours for three months. I would concentrate on herbs, root crops, cabbage, greens. The fruiting plants will be limited. If you insist on fruits, I would go with zucchini and beans. You can however grow things in full shade in the winter, since it is Zone 9. Lettuce for example, and you will still have some herbs.

• Creek-side
    10 years ago

What time of day was this picture taken? Was it sunny?

• merryp
    Original Author
    10 years ago