Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
itsmadmax

What wrong with my veggie plants :( Help please?

itsmadmax
9 years ago

Dear folks,
I am a absolute beginner (Dutch so forgive me my English)

We have a house in the Southern Bahamas and I tried several times to grow something. Or its getting eaten by rats, or bugs and now this.

I am building a greenhouse at the moment but if this will happen inside too, i will give up soon :(

First weeks plants were growing beautiful. They are in a mix of pottingsoil, with 1/3 cow menure and some perlite.

The get rainwater (from to side) every morning at 5 am for 5-8 minutes.
Like a little shower.

Is this bugs, a disease, and what can I do to prevent?
At this moment we start to spray neemoil in the evening to see if it does anything but what is it??

Thanks for the help and input.

http://beautyshoot.nl/fotos/Modellen/cucumber/show.php
(see pic link below)

Jorgen

Here is a link that might be useful: Pictures

Comments (40)

• engineeredgarden1 (NW Alabama) 7A
    9 years ago

This may sound crazy, but my plants only look like that during the hottest part of the summer, and less sun intensity would be welcomed. How many hours of direct sunlight do these plants get?

EG

• itsmadmax
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Well... they are on the S-E side of the garage wall. Its winter there also 70-80f and I would guess 6-7 hours.

9 years ago

Hmm....that's right on track for good growth. Even with the damaged leaves - I honestly don't think you have anything to worry about just yet. The rest of the leaves look great, and it's common for mine to do the same way each year...

EG

• itsmadmax
    Original Author
    9 years ago

hmm... still not convinced here haha. I mean the holes and the sides of the leaves ... seems that something is nibbling on it? Or?

• itsmadmax
    Original Author
    9 years ago

and of course I am refering tot the cucumber (a bit less, the tomato) for now. The Pepper looks very nice.

• jean001a
    9 years ago