Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bordercollie104

growing corn

bordercollie104
9 years ago

Hello everyone!

I'm in NE Iowa and have an extra 5 acres of land I want to plant something on.

Anyhow, there is Alfalfa on the land now. I know I need to till the land pretty good and put the corn into rows approx 20" wide and each plant spaced approx 12" apart.

What kind of corn should I grow and what would you suggest I do with 5 acres of corn when harvested? How long does corn keep for?

I'm new to all this and still have about 2 more months to plan.

thanks everyone!

Comments (16)

• farmerdill
    9 years ago

With 5 acres, you had best decide what you are going to do with it. Do you have a market for it. Dry corn will store for a year, but you need appropriate storage. Sweet corn you need go directly from the field to market. Determine your market first and then plant what will best sell in your area.

• planatus
    9 years ago

I wouldn't be so eager to get rid of all of the alfalfa. See the old research paper below, in which 20-ft alternate strips of alfalfa and corn work together.

In my area there is an excellent local market for non-GMO corn for animal feed.

Here is a link that might be useful: U-WI Alfalfa and corn strip tillage

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Agree with the above. Are you growing for your own/family use, for farmer's market sales, or for commercial production and shipping?

For personal or family use 5 acres of corn is unrealistic unless you have huge commercial dryers (good for a year), several large freezers where it would keep for 6 months, or are willing to invest in commercial canning equipment. If crops for your own use is the goal then in 5 acres you can grow several different crops all at the same time, not just one crop.

For commercial production and shipping 5 acres is too small. Given current corn prices it wouldn't come close to paying for itself even if you can find local harvesters, storage, and shipping.