Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bd354

soiless mix for raised beds

bd354
15 years ago

Hi everyone, great site you have here. My question is what can I use along with composted cow manure in these beds or is the manure enough? I've never used beds or soiless mixtures before but I gave up trying to grow anything in what is called soil around here. Would like to plant tomatoes,green peppers,squash and cucumbers. I have access to composted cow manure but I'm in the dark as to what if anything else I need. Would also like to stay as organic as possible. I plan to use landscape cloth under the bed and maybe on top also. Probably need mulch on top of that? Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

Comments (5)

• dan_2007
    15 years ago

Hi there,

I think your best bet is to get some triple mix or good topsoil to fill the majority of your raised beds. You usually get the stuff delivered pretty cheaply or pick it up yourself from your local landscaping place. You can then mix in the cow manure on a yearly bases. 100% composted cow manure might be a little too rich. That is what I did last year and it worked really well.

• glib
    15 years ago

There is no need to mix anything. Just dump whatever you have in the beds. Short term, only a few selected vegetables will grow in the unfinished organic matter, basically, the same things that you would find growing in your compost pile, potatoes, tomatoes, squash, melons, etc.

Longer term most everything will grow. If you are afraid that fresh manure will be a bit too strong call a tree company and have them dump a few cubic yards of wood chips in the front yard. They will do it for free, and you will be able to mix in some brown material, and to put a thick mulch on top of the mix.

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

Welcome! Several previous discussions linked below on the question that you might want to browse through for suggestions. Scroll down to the ones with the blue borders. ;) Several good recipe mixes included.