Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ltilton_gw

Late, cold spring coming

ltilton
10 years ago

That's the forecast for the Upper Midwest. I'm normally a season-jumper, but this year I doubt if I'll be able to get anything in the ground before mid-April.

So it may be just as well that my sunporch, where I normally start my cool-season seeds, is way too cold for anything of the sort, even with heating mats. I'm setting up a table in the basement under the new light fixture I just bought, but I'll be putting off starting the broccoli and cabbage, etc.

Who else is expecting a delayed planting season, and what are your plans for it?

Comments (18)

• shermthewerm
    10 years ago

Noooo! I just started my cabbage & broccoli a couple of days ago. This is my first year starting ALL of my plants from seed, so I'm very interested in this.
    Although I probably jumped the gun (so excited...), could you tell me your source so I could check what kind of spring we're expecting here in the PNW? I have also started celery, celeriac, walla wallas...and a few others. Am holding off on the peppers, tomatoes, and others, but I'm finding it hard to wait (I'm not a very patient person!)
    According to the farmer's almanac (not sure how reliable this is!), our last frost is supposed to be earlier than normal.

This post was edited by shermthewerm on Fri, Jan 31, 14 at 9:55

• nicoleannB
    10 years ago

we still experience the cold weather. We really can't predict the season we experience because of Global Warming.

• planatus
    10 years ago

I love the "season-jumper" concept. I am a recovering season jumper. I have onions underway and can finally start cabbage now, but no-no on broccoli for at least two more weeks. Here the soil temp 4 inches down does not begin to rise until late March and my site is too windy for sheet plastic that time of year.