Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
debwhite0215

Pepper plants

debwhite0215
10 years ago

Im very new to this organic gardening and I have 9 raised bed garden boxes filled with all kinds of veggies I have many questions but this is my first one right now I currently have Red,Orange and Green bell peppers plants and I spray with a mixture of dish soap and Vegatable oil with water in a squirt bottle and I spray everyday cause Im doing this all organic and I noticed that some of the leaves have been falling off the plants and the very tip connected to the plant itself are turning a garyish brown and the leaves all I need to do is to touch them and they fall off the plant but I have new growth coming up from the bottom what am I doing wrong and why are the leaves ust falling off in my hands???

Comments (5)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

I pretty much covered this in your other post of the same question. The mixture you are using is far too strong, is being applied far too often, and coating and suffocating the leaves.

You never mention any actual pests in either post, just that you are spraying the plants daily. For what reason please? What pest?

In addition, leaf drop with pepper plants can be caused by over-watering.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Organic Gardening forum

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

Deb: I have to agree with Dave.

Firstly, the idea behind pest control with any type of gardening(organic or conventional) is 1) identify 2) find treatments for identified pest 3) especially with organic, use least harmful of treatments (to beneficial insects and ecosystem), and go from there.

Let's take aphids, for instance

First, for all pests, you want to create an IPM program(research IPM). That's planting flowering plants and herbs that flower at different times of the year that attract beneficial insects. For aphids, that would be ladybugs, lacewings, et al.