Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
debwhite0215

Home ade Pesticide

debwhite0215
10 years ago

Im brand new to Organic gardening and I have 9 Raised bed s filled with all kinds of veggies and I have been making my own pesticide with
1 cup
of Vegatable Oil
1 Tablespoon of Dish Soap
and fill a large spray bottle with the rest water and I have been spraying my garden everyday with this mixture??I need to know alot more about if Im doing this too much or anyone else out there have any other suggestions??

Comments (9)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Do you know for a fact that you have some pests or are you just spraying in hopes of keeping them away?

Even organic pesticides can be abused and can harm plants so aren't recommended for daily or even weekly use especially if there is no actual pest. They aren't preventatives and in most cases have to come into direct contact with the pest to do any good.

Oil and soap based sprays, when improperly mixed (you don't mention the amount of water) can easily burn leaves and interfere with tiranspiration by clogging the pores. The standard recipe recommended for many years on the Organic gardening forum here is 1 T of oil and 1 tsp. of soap per gallon of water. That is much less than you are using.

And there is always the very important issue of first identifying the pest and making sure it isn't a good guy before using anything at all. Organic pesticides, even homemade ones, can kill just as many beneficial bugs as the strong chemicals can.

Why not discuss this issue with the gardeners over on the Organic Gardening forum here for more insights. It is linked at the top of this forum's front page.

Dave

• seysonn
    10 years ago

I agree with above. There are some merits to programmed preventive spraying like for powdery mildew, maybe every two weeks or so. I use NEEM oil , which is organic.