Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
three3apples

I'm new to gardening and seeking advice

three3apples
9 years ago

Hello. We are in NE Ohio and want to plant a large vegetable and fruit garden this spring. My husband thinks we should plant several things in containers in the house in early spring and then plant the small seedlings in the ground once they are ready. Is this a good idea? We intend to have tomatoes, onions, lettuce, broccoli, cucumbers, zucchini, beets, herbs, strawberries and raspberries the first year. This will be a fenced garden (we are in the woods with lots of deer) and I'm thinking we should divide it into quadrants with railroad ties to keep things contained and orderly. I also want to make the garden look sort of colonial or early American in style and have it very orderly. Any advice would be wonderful. Thank you.

Comments (26)

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    9 years ago

If this is your first garden, start small and buy those plants that need to be started in the house. To start your own transplants for tomatoes and broccoli, etc, you really need a set up and you need to know what you're doing to get healthy transplants. Too much to handle at once. Buy them this year, learn basic gardening before trying to do it all.

Also, don't plant too big a garden. Nothing discourages a new gardener more than having that first, too big, garden get out of hand.

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    9 years ago

If this is your first garden, start small and buy those plants that need to be started in the house. To start your own transplants for tomatoes and broccoli, etc, you really need a set up and you need to know what you're doing to get healthy transplants. Too much to handle at once. Buy them this year, learn basic gardening before trying to do it all.

Also, don't plant too big a garden. Nothing discourages a new gardener more than having that first, too big, garden get out of hand.

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    9 years ago