Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brwneyegrl46

Help!!! Using straw for weed control?

brwneyegrl46
13 years ago

Hello. I've been growing veggie gardens in the Upstate NY area for a couple years now, and weeds are always a problem. I used weed control fabric a couple years ago and it didn't seem to make a difference. I want to try using straw to stop weeds this year, as I am pregnant, due in August, and weeding the garden won't be my first choice in activity. I'm growing tomatoes, cucumbers, squash, peas, sweet peppers, and green beans. With the seeds I would wait until they germinated and then put straw around the plants. Has anyone had any luck with this? How deep would I need to put the straw? Is there anything else I need to consider? Would I need to irrigate or would the straw keep in the moisture? If the straw isn't recommended I would take any other suggestions. Thanks so much!

Comments (9)

• tracydr
    13 years ago

It works great. Try reading some of the stuff written by Ruth Stout. I think she recommends 8-10 inches, which will shrink to 2-4 inches.

• Poacherjoe
    13 years ago