Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
exmar

Trouble growing Spinach

Hi,

OK, I've been gardening for over 50 years and feel pretty confident about growing whatever I want. Last couple of years though, having trouble growing spinach? The issue seems to be germination, very poor. Usually buy in bulk at a local place and thought maybe their quality was poor, though been using them a long time. Last year tried "designer" brand seeds, no difference.

I plant early and then late for a fall crop. Don't think it's a soil issue as the garden has been in use for years and has produced excellent spinach yields. All crops are rotated.

I use a garden seeder so depth, etc. is exactly what it should be. I've attached a link to the one I use. BTW, they're pricey, but they do a really neat and fast job.

OK, we all know that the weather patterns are changing, wondering if that's the issue as I think I've eliminated all the other possibilities.

What I think I'm going to try this year is start the seeds in peat pellets then transplant. That's the easy part, though putting something in pellets to transplant that I've always just scattered in a row seems wrong.

My question is, where do I put the pellets for germination? Inside? Doesn't seem right, spinach is a very cold hardy plant, thinking of a flat tray outside in a wind protected spot with good exposure.

Thoughts or opinions welcome,

Thanks for your time,

Ev

Here is a link that might be useful: garden seeder

Comments (11)

• gjcore
    11 years ago

I've had trouble also getting spinach to germinate when direct sowing. Either that or maybe it gets eaten by slugs or something else right after germinating. I resorted to indoor sowing and then transplanting as soon as the plants had decent size true leaves. Sort of a pain to do it that way but I only need about 10 spinach plants at a time.

• wertach zone 7-B SC
    11 years ago

EV, I have the same seeder. It plants small seeds too deep.