Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
milehighgirl_gw

Artichoke germination

milehighgirl
14 years ago

I planted 25 Imperial Star seeds 10 days ago in my egg incubator. The temperature of the soil is 85 degrees. Within a couple of days I had three sprouts, and now nothing. I've unearthed a few of the seeds and they don't look like they are decaying or anything.

Before I planted them I soaked them in warm, 100 degree water for about a half an hour. The seeds are in seed starting medium.

Should I quit waiting and assume the won't germinate, or were the first three just anomalies?

They are from Fedco. The package says it was tested at 75% germination.

Comments (25)

• sunnibel7 Md 7
    14 years ago

First I'll say that I've only germinated artichoke once and overall, I'm no expert. But my feeling is that that soil temperature sounds rather high. Did the package say to germinate them at such a warm temperature? Perhaps if you lower it 10 degrees? I did germinate a number of cardoon at around 70 degrees, no presoaking, a few weeks ago. I don't know how similar the two really are. Maybe do an internet search for artichoke seed germination temperature? Or maybe they are just long, uneven germinators. :)

Cheers!

• denninmi
    14 years ago

Milehighgirl -- I had similar problems with my first batch last year. I kept mine on a heating mat at a soil temp around 74 degrees. I got a few to germinate initially, then nothing.

I posted about this same ? on another forum. Someone replied and told me that they need alternating day and night temperatures in order to germinate well.

So I tried this with the second batch, and also with the ones from the first batch that hadn't germinated. I got much better results. Even a lot of the ungerminated seeds from the first batch sprouted.