Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rutabagabeggar

constructing a box for veggies

Rutabagabeggar
10 years ago

Hi All-- I'm a newbie whose wife has asked him to construct a box for vegetables. Our lawn gets flooded in monsoons (yes, we have monsoons), so we feared we would be eating our neighbor's pesticides. Hence we have built a huge box, 16' x 4' x 3.5' high. But now it seems that old concrete is not recommended as fill for gardens. So the new plan is to fill partway up with sand and old concrete, then put plywood and maybe plastic with holes to hold dirt for the top 1 foot. I'm worried about leaving rock and sand in the bottom of the planter, since that will leave space for animals or insects. I searched for construction info, but I haven't found info, especially about this fill question. So, I'm looking for info on construction, and advice about that fill question.
Thanks

Comments (9)

• veggievicki
    10 years ago

It'll rot down fairly quickly but hay or straw would be easy to handle and cost effective.

• Rutabagabeggar
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the reply, Veggievicki. I am also worried about ants and bees, since water in New Mexico attracts things. So I'm pretty sure it will be filled with bugs of one sort or another.

Our local garden store said to fill it with mulch and then put dirt on top. I think that is my wife's plan, unless I get strong advice otherwise.

Thanks again!

• insteng
    10 years ago

3.5' high is pretty high for a raised bed. How high does the water get in your yard when it floods? In New Mexico it seems like the water would go down really fast. So you could probably make it a lot shorter. Like mentioned above hay would make a good cheap filler in the botton just put whole bales down in the bottom then your soil on top. As it decomposes and sinks down you could add more soil on top. The mulch would work it would just be more expensive.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago