Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tenessaa

How Cold Hardy are they?

tenessaa
14 years ago

I posted this but it never appeared...so if you see a double post I'm sorry :(

I started my broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, and escarole a few weeks ago thinking I would be within sight of planting them out right now. Unfortunately this is not to be. I have some beautiful seedlings that need to be put out soon not to mention the fact that I need the space to start my tomatoes, eggplants, peppers, and tomatillos! We are finally going to have a few days of 40+ degrees starting Friday (hopefully). is it ok to start hardening off the seedlings at these temps? Should I bring them back in at night? I just need to do this till the soil warms up and dries up enough to work...sigh...

Be kind, I'm a newbie!

Comments (6)

• glib
    14 years ago

It is not optimal of course but those seedlings might survive.
    They are all semi-hardy. What you could do is make a tent or hoop house (plant a tomato cage on the ground, put buckets of water and the seedlings under it, cover with clear plastic, secure to the ground with bricks) and leave them there unless it really freezes.

Next year, make yourself a cold frame, and the semi-hardy seedlings will never give you a problem again. I make a hoophouse, well secured, plenty of buckets inside, precisely to get seedling out of the house ASAP. You are hardly the only one with space problems in the spring.

• digdirt2
    14 years ago

And be sure to make a note of your starting date this year in your journal so that next year you'll remember to wait a couple of weeks longer on semi-hardies. ;)