Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fruitpip

How much parsley do you get from one plant?

fruitpip
10 years ago

I'm new to gardening.. I've been doing google searches and what not for info on this.. I cannot find it anywhere like i know there are so many variables, but anyone who has grown parsley... how much on average can you harvest from one plant? Like i know you could harvest a little at a time but if I wanted one cup of parsley (not packed or chopped just fresh leaves) would that knock out an entire adult parsley plant? Same with basil? Thank you for your help everyone :~)

Comments (19)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

You cannot get a whole lot from a single parsley plant. I have planted about 10 sqr-ft of parsley. It comes to harvest point about every 3 weeks or so. You can , of course, harvest outer leaves gradually if you have just a few of them.

Parsley is sown and grown in clumps, roughly one plant per 4 square inch (more or less) or about 30-40 per one square foot. Once they get bigger you can thin them, if you want. But I don't do that.

ABOUT GERMINATING PARSLEY:

be prepared to wait up to 3 weeks (depending on the conditions) I am talking about direct sowing in the garden. You can even winter sow them ahead of time. Then they will sprout on their own timing.

• paleogardener
    10 years ago

I plant parsley in clumps throughout the garden & can harvest it by the grocery bag full once it gets going. I gradually thin them out to the strongest plants as the season goes along. You can literally strip a plant of all leaves & it will survive with new leaves within a couple weeks.

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

Yep.. For the 1st couple months, there's not much to be had, but before they flower, they grow pretty huge and there's quite a bit to be harvested. And then all of a sudden it bolts.

Reminds me much like cilantro -- you want to keep planting in succession every 2-4 weeks to keep the supply coming.

Kevin

• fruitpip