Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
destijl_atmospheres

my first garden - Los Angeles

I just got a 12x9 plot at my local community garden. Now what?!?!?!?!

My only gardening experience is growing a few herbs and an upside down tomato plant on my apartment's balcony.

Any advice for a near-complete beginner?

Comments (11)

• michelelc
    12 years ago

Do you have any ideas for what you would like to grow? I think it would be helpful to know what types of vegetables you are thinking about.

• destijl_atmospheres
    Original Author
    12 years ago

tomatoes, beets, zucchini, radishes, all kinds of salad greens, beans, cucumbers... maybe a few herbs...

• stuffradio
    12 years ago

All these plants are easy to germinate.

Radishes: Plop them in the ground, and they grow. In the summer, it took about 3-4 weeks until I was pulling them.

Lettuce: Just let it grow. They need even moisture, especially romaine lettuces as a good chunk of lettuce is water.

Beets: I didn't have success with this one because I planted in mid September when the conditions of growing were only good for a couple weeks after that.

Cucumbers: Trellising works well. You'll get the plant climbing and producing more than if you let it tumble about.

Zucchini should be relatively the same as Cucumbers.

Beans need lots of heat. I was able to get them growing, and only got them flowering at the end of summer. They didn't set beans for me because of my cold summer.

Here are some pictures: http://s32.photobucket.com/albums/d17/stuffradio/

• michelelc
    12 years ago

I would suggest getting a good gardening book, which you can use as a reference when you are starting. A few years ago someone from this site recommended this book and I've found it to be great. You might be able to get it from your local library, that's what I first did and then eventually bought it from amazon:
    Great Garden Companions by Sally Jean Cunningham