Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robert2014_gw

Low maintenance veggies

robert2014 zone 5b
10 years ago

The other day I was talking to an older friend of mine about gardening. He never really did much gardening in his life but now that he is retired he is a little interested in doing this. I say a little because he has some health issues and so he probably cannot do a whole lot for the plants.

So we were discussing about what veggies he can try which will be mostly trouble free and low maintenance. I am a gardening newbie, but from my last years experience I suggested tomatoes. I know he needs to cage them or give some kind of support, so I offered him help with that, But he is not a big fan of tomatoes. So I ask you, which all veggies do you suggest as the most trouble free and low maintenance, if there is one?

Thanks.

Comments (23)

• farmerdill
    10 years ago

Most of the common vegetables are as easy as tomatoes. What vegetables does he like that are better fresh. always grow something you like.

• jimster
    10 years ago

Swiss Chard - Tasty trouble-free greens all summer long.

Turnips - Good for roots and delicious greens. Trouble-free.

Butternut Squash - Productive, high quality winter squash which are not susceptible to squash problems such as squash vine borer. Stores well.

Bush Beans - Quick to produce (make two or more plantings during the season) and trouble-free (unless you have Mexican bean beetles).

Jim

This post was edited by jimster on Tue, Feb 25, 14 at 20:37

• glib
    10 years ago

total agreement with Jimster, plus garlic, pole beans, mustard greens, lettuce. If he has space and patience, asparagus. If you can describe the soil, we can help further.

• robert2014 zone 5b
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks a lot farmerdill, Jim and glib. I will talk to him tomorrow about what veggies he prefers. I know for sure he likes squash and beans. He also likes pumpkin pies :).