Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzyg215

newbie w/lots of questions

Suzy
12 years ago

hi. this is my first time making a veggie garden. my husband is building it for me and we're lining the bottom w/wire mesh & landscape fabric to keep animals from burrowing in from underneath and we're doing chicken wire around the perimeter & a lid of chicken wire over the top to keep the deer out. it'll be 4ft x 8 ft. does this sound ok?

what kind of soil do i need? i will transplanting seedlings for cauliflower, eggplant, tomatoes & peppers and will direct sow broccoli, spinach, sugar snap peas, carrots & cukes

what needs to be "hardened" before transplanting? what does "thinning them out" mean & how is it done? if i plant 5 broccoli seeds, will i just get a one time crop of 5 heads? that's a lot of valuable space to give up for just 5 heads, right? same for spinach? cauliflower? eggplant? etc.

can the seedlings stay in those little Burpee seed starter container cells until transplanting into the ground in 6 weeks?

any advice at all is welcome. thanks!

Comments (8)

• stuffradio
    12 years ago

Thinning means, pull out the plants that are too close.
    Broccoli grows side shoots when the main one is cut, so you get multiple harvests from each plant.
    Spinach you grow and cut multiple times.
    Cauliflower one time harvest.
    Eggplant grows multiple per plant.

• bigbob7777
    12 years ago

The cauliflower and broccoli take up alot of space. Figure 2-3 sq. ft. per plant. You 4 x 8 will quickly be depleted.

Peas need to be started now if in zone 5-8.

Cukes keep on producing; but their vines spread rapidly. Consider a trellis for vertical growing. Then you can plant all around it.

After harvesting the broccoli head, the ones that grow next are more like florets, than heads.

Seriously, consider vertical gardening. There is a forum here.

bob

• Robbie3
    12 years ago