Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
silent88

Why is it so hard to find straw? What's a good mulch for veggies?

silent88
11 years ago

I am relatively new to gardening and this will be my 3rd gardening season (last summer and last winter), and I mulched on neither occassion. I live in the suburbs of Orange County and all I ever see at garden stores is wood chips for mulch. I never see straw. It sounds like straw is a great mulch, whereas wood chips apparently will leech nitrogen from the soil? I'm just curious if anyone knows where on earth one can purchase straw? And hopefully for a reasonable price! Or if anyone has any other ideas for mulching? It seems like there's SOMETHING mentioned that is a problem with every kind of mulch, or I cannot find it at stores. It has to look attractive as I live with my parents and they'll kill me if it's not! Thanks!

Comments (24)

• gjcore
    11 years ago

I usually purchase straw at an animal feed store.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Use hay. It is much more readily available in most parts of the country. Or shredded leaves or grass clippings, or compost, or any of 50 other things. Pull up all the 'mulch' discussions here for even more suggestions.

Dave

• Raw_Nature
    11 years ago