Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diggerdee

potato question

Hello,

This is my first time posting here. I just found a paper bag full of potatoes I had forgotten about! (Not too thrilled either, since these were high-priced, delicious organic potatoes from a local farm which I didn't get to eat, lol!) They are from last November, and are obviously not edible now.

Anyway, most of them have sprouts at least an inch and a half high, and the growth looks quite green and healthy.

I've never grown a potato in my life, but was thinking of trying, and this seems to be a good opportunity. :)

But, I have a thin layer of snow on the ground and I'm assuming it's way too early to plant. Is there any way I can use these potatoes now - some kind of indoor planting perhaps, or a way to delay any further growth and yet keep them viable? Should I leave them as they were and let them continue to do their thing? Or should they just go in the compost (where they just might grow anyway?!)

Thanks for any help!

:)

Dee

Comments (10)

• denninmi
    16 years ago

I know Connecticut has several different growing zones, depending upon elevation and proximity to Long Island Sound, but I would think your last frost date is probably sometime around late April or the 1st of May, as an average. You can generally safely plant potatoes outdoors about 3 weeks before the last frost, so probably by about the 2nd week in April in your area.

So, you really only have about a month to go, maybe a little more. In the meantime, you can slow them down a bit by removing the sprouts. They'll take a few weeks to grow new ones.

I don't see any reason why they wouldn't keep long enough to plant, unless they rot.

• anney
    16 years ago

Dee,