Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
njitgrad

can 5-1-1 be used for all veggies

njitgrad
10 years ago

I am only going to be using 5-1-1 mix in containers for my first try at it....are there any vegetables that are not recommended for use with this type of mix?

Comments (18)

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

greenman28(Josh), a huge advocate of 5-1-1 frequent in the hot pepper an container forums, says he uses it for anything. I pretty much use it only for my superhot peppers, but I did use it for my lettuce this past season with great results.

You'll probably get more feedback in the container forum.

Kevin

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

According to the folks on the Container Gardening forum - yes it can. The gritty mix has some advantages in some situations but that forum can explain the differences better than this one can. .

Dave

• seysonn
    10 years ago

I have never used 5-1-1 before but I am geared up to using it this year for peppers and few DET tomatoes in pots. The pot has to have a minimum depth not to dry up quickly. Unless one is willing to water sometimes twice in a day.
    5-1-1 is a highly well drained medium. You can modify it like to 3-3-1 (more peat , less pine fine/bark) to be used for small-rooted plants. Or screen the pine barks to 1/4" and smaller particles.

JMO

• njitgrad
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Interesting, I never thought of modifying the 5-1-1 for small-rooted plants. Does broccoli fall into this category? This is the first year I am trying it and my seedlings are ready to be put into containers. I'm just waiting to see what happens with the snowstorm threat next week.

I assume herbs would go into a 3-3-1 mix as well.

I'd be interested in hearing about other variations of the mix and what you use them for.

10 years ago