Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
salem_girl

Starting over ...again

salem_girl
12 years ago

Please help

I started my 4'x24' raised garden back in 2005. As I recall, we laid down a barrier and filled the bed with a soil, compost, peat and vermiculite mixture. It was whatever was recommended to me at the time. I filled my bed with bags and bags and then seeds and plants. The first year was excellent. I was giving away zucchini and it was the whole reason for home ownership in my opinion. Life was good.

The next year was not great. I had weeds. Needless to say I was a newbie and did not do any prevention other than square foot gardening. The next year I filled the bed with more bags, more seeds, more plants and more weeds came. The next year again AND the guys who put in our fence added post hole dirt (clay, weed seeds and grubs apparently) The weeds were becoming out of control. I spent every weekend pulling and eventually giving up before what should have been "harvest". The next year a weed mat and poking holes through hay. Then...I gave up. My garden had become a prairie. I left it alone and went to container gardening to get my tomatoes and herbs on my deck, but my heart sank every time I looked at my weed filled bed.

I contacted a local horse farm that could drop off compost for me at $45 for delivered (trust me I'm tired of spending $$$ for bags) I am presently pausing as I type because of the blisters on my hands. This weekend was spent digging out the raised garden in preparation for yet another try. I have tarps laid down directly over the soil right now weighted down with some firewood. I was afraid of what the rain that came last night would've done to all my hard work. (Envisioning jack and the beanstalk weeds taking over during the night)

My husband is telling me this is it. Make it work or it goes. I understand this. The weed field is a real eyesore.