Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rakin_gw

Cantaloupe in a container

rakin
10 years ago

It was suggested that I move this question over here so,

I have sweet and early Cantaloupe and I am wondering if I am suppose to pinch off the shoots the same way that I do the cucumbers. (nothing in the arm pits). Since they are in pots, I started them early and they already have 5 leaves and are beginning to have shoots growing in their pits. This is my first time with cantaloupe. How do you all handle your container melons?

Comments (4)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Why are you pinching off the shoots on the cucumbers would be my first question? Nothing says you have to do that.

Container melons, assuming a large proper sized container is used do fine. The mistake most make is trying to use far too small a container. But Sweet and Early isn't a container variety. It produces huge multiple foot long vines that run all over the place so can't say how well it would do in a container unless it was something like a 1/2 whiskey barrel set in a space where the vines were free to run all over around it.

Dave

• rakin
    Original Author
    10 years ago