Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joetoe

Starting Plants from Seed Is it to late???

John near Toledo
10 years ago

I am just getting started in planting my seed for plants is it to late to start my tomato and pepper plants?

What else would I be able to start now?

I would like to know what you think about this light?

Lithonia Lighting All Season Shop Light 4 ft. 2-Light Grey T8 Strip Fluorescent
Model # 1242ZG RE Internet # 202052422 Store SKU # 390063
http://www.homedepot.com/b/N-5yc1v/N...atchall&NCNI-5

i would need two of them.

I got my Park seed starting kit the other day and I am ready to get things started now.

Yes I live in Northwest Ohio.

Comments (19)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

In your zone, no it is not to late. You probably can't plant them out until late May/early June anyway so you have 8-10 weeks for them.

Of the common things normally grown as transplants rather than direct seeded it is too early for most everything else I can think off - maybe broccoli. Lettuce, spinach, chard, can be direct seeded as soon as your soil can be worked.

As for the light, it is probably fine although they have less expensive models that would work fine too.

If you only have 1 tray of the Park seed starter things then you won't be able to mix things much anyway since they will all have different germination times. Better to germinate them separately and then transplant in to it if you want.

Lots of discussions about all of this over on the Growing from Seed forum.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Your light link

• art_1
    10 years ago

No of course not. You are right on time. Here are a few guides for planting dates:

2014 Best Spring Planting Dates for Seeds for Columbus, OH

Zone 5 Vegetable Planting Calendar/Schedule

Vegetable Planting Guide for The Mid-Ohio Valley

For the lights those look about right. Many use normal 4 foot shop fluorescent lights. Hang them right over the plants with the bulbs just ~2 inches from the tops of the plants.