Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kumquatlady

small but very productive garden

kumquatlady
17 years ago

Any of you gardeners out there have small garden densely planted with fruit trees and vegetables that feed the family quite well? I am talking about small garden like less then 1/4 of an acre or average subdivision lot to provide most of your fruits and vegetables. Please share it with others for inspiration and education.

Comments (35)

• alexjh
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Path To Freedom is a good example.

I'm working on it by borrowing parts of my in-laws backyard for garden space since I'm in a townhouse. The less lawn my FIL needs to mow, the better.

Basically I'm just doing Square Foot Gardening.

• boballi
    17 years ago

This is my first year gardening. My main garden area is about 27x27.

So far I have: 9 fruit trees pruned as espalier fans and am using the Square Foot/Intensive method for veggies and strawberries.

Next year: I plan to add 5 more trees.

• gamebird
    17 years ago

I don't "feed the family quite well", but I'm working with 200 square feet of vegetable garden space. I can probably expand to a total of 400 square feet, but that's about it without losing a lot of plant productivity due to shade (or cutting down a lot of 50 year old trees).

Last year I got all the beans we wanted to eat and then some for almost two months, all the lettuce and radishes we wanted for the same length of time. We had 30-40 ears of corn, 8-10 pounds of potatoes, about the same of onions... a lot of tomatoes, five or six under-sized bell peppers... 2-3 pounds of carrots, about the same of strawberries... hm, I think that's it, unless I count herbs, of which I grew sage, basil, mint and chives. Lots of chives. So many chives that I composted a lot of them.