Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newyorkrita

Spring peas

newyorkrita
11 years ago

I started on my peas March 21 when I planted Super Sugar Snaps in ground. These were my favorite peas last year.

Today I planted four large pots of Sugar Lace II snap peas. I had peas in these pots last fall. I have found that peas do really well in large pots. I still have seeds left of the Sugar Lace so I will probably plant another pot or two, Not today though. The Sugar Lace are new to me. I have never tried this variety before.

I have decided I will place my Cascadia snap peas in ground, maybe I will do that tomorrow. And I watered the Super Sugar Snap peas I planted last week.

So I am on my way to my veggie garden getting planted and hope they all sprout soon.

Comments (59)

• newyorkrita
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The peas I have in pots are sprouting!!! So far I don't see anything starting on the ones planted in ground.

• newyorkrita
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Those peas in pots are doing so well that I planted two more pots. Used up the leftover Sugar Lace II seeds that I had. So I had four pots of Sugar Lace II and four pots of Snow peas. Now I will have six pots of Sugar Lace II.
    I always have good luck planting peas in pots, I planted them in pots last spring. None in ground. Then last fall I planted them in pots again but did put some in ground. This fall I will be planing peas in pots also.

I watered all my peas including the inground ones. Those early inground ones (Super Sugar Snap) I planted March 21 and I don't see anything sprouting yet. But the pots I planted March 29 and March 30. So they sprouted quickly.

• newyorkrita
    Original Author
    10 years ago

peas on pots sprouting

• daninthedirt (USDA 9a, HZ9, CentTX, Sunset z30, Cfa)
    10 years ago