Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kawaiineko_gardener

help with plot layout (grown in the ground)

NOTE: sorry if these questions seem dumb, but I've never grown stuff in the ground, and I've never used the traditional row format, so I'm really new to this method of gardening.

I'm growing stuff in the ground using the traditional row spacing format. I have experience with gardening, but only container gardening.

I don't know what should go where in the plot with veggies; should the tall ones (tomatoes, corn, etc.)go at the north end or vise versa; where should smaller plants be placed (east end, west end, etc.). I don't have any idea what I'm doing with this.

I found row spacing to be used between rows for veggies listed below that I plan to plant in the ground in my plot

Tomatoes 24"
Peppers 24"
Beans 18"
Eggplant 24"
Beet 12"
Radishes 12"

Is the only purpose of row spacing to be able to walk around the plot to tend to your plants? I am wondering if I can make the rows closer spaced, or would this overcrowd the plants?

I don't care about 12" spacing, because that's not that much space. However 24" between rows will take a huge chunk out of the space I have to work with, and I only have a 20' x 20' plot; 18" isn't as bad, but it still makes it difficult with the limited amount of space I have to work with.

I will be trellising tomatoes, so will this allow for closer row spacing? I don't know about the other veggies.

Comments (4)

• lexusnexus
    10 years ago