Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomacco_gw

Will Home Depot Cypress Mulch Hurt My Veggies?

tomacco
15 years ago

This is my first year gardening. I've got Onions, Potatoes and Garlic in the ground, and I just trench-planted some Asparagus. I've got pretty much everything going into 2000 sq feet, plus a separate strawberry patch. Yes, a lot to bite off year one but I need the exercise.

So weeding is not my favorite activity, and plastic/newspapers don't really appeal to me. So I got some Home Depot uncolored shredded Cypress Mulch. I just mulched my onions and around the strawed patch of potatoes, and the path between those and the next stuff thats going in (lettuce/cabbage/beets/carrots in a couple days). I'm planning on mulching that stuff too.

It says this mulch is safe for kids playgrounds, etc. and there are no warnings on it. It doesn't say untreated, but it looks plain.

Is it safe for my veggies? I'm thinking of 'tiny' farming a couple acres organic next year, so I try to keep it natural as possible.

Comments (25)

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

You'll find lots of discussions on various mulches over on the Soil & Mulch forum here and you might want to review them as well for better ideas. Just search 'mulch' there for many discussions on it.

Meanwhile - JMO. ;) All the politically incorrect arguments against it aside, cypress isn't an ideal mulch for a vegetable garden. It is primarily a decorative mulch best used in flower beds and landscaped areas. It isn't considered an effective weed control unless applied quite thickly and using 4-5" of it can get quite expensive. It provides little benefit to the soil or the plants as other organic muclhes do as they decompose, and it tends to shed water.