Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryalappat_gw

Vegetable Container Gardening - How Successful can it be?

maryalappat
11 years ago

Hi,

I'm a novice vegetable gardener. In the past few years I've tried Tomatoes and some herbs with success. But this year i decided to go all out and try quite a few different vegetables. But i don't have much room.1- 1/2 veg beds (2.5x7 ft) and the rest I plan on using pots. I was wondering if anyone has advice for container veg gardening. Is the yield lower? Do they need to be watered more often than plants in the ground? Do some plants do better in the ground vs pots or vice-versa?
I plan to plant potatoes, beets, tomatoes, beans and zucchini in the ground. I have planted radishes, beets, peas and lettuce in pots. I'm also planning to plant Broccoli and cauliflower and green onions in pots.

Another question i had was regarding timing. I planted some Broccoli in the ground 2-3 weeks ago but it hasn't sprouted. Nether has the beets or lettuce. Is it too early to start spring gardening in Portland?

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Regards,
Mary

Comments (15)

• BigN_187
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello Mary. I'll attempt to answer your questions! I'll just tackle them in the order you ask.

1. Is the yield lower?

This is somewhat of a subjective question, as there are many things to be factored into the answer. The short answer is: as long as you still feed/fertilize, water, accommodate the plant's lighting needs, and plant the plant in a big enough pot, the yield should be no different than what you'd expect in the ground. Remember that the root system of a plant can grow to be three times the size of the plant you see growing above ground!

2. Do they need to be watered more often than plants in the ground?