Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brett_cpg

'The Best' Vegetables

Brett-CpG
12 years ago

I'm out to get some opinions, if I can. It's easy to find "favorites" lists for tomatoes and peppers on these forums, but its harder for other veggies. Whats worse, seed catalogs make everything sound so good, so it's hard to gauge the real winners. I'm only in my second year of gardening, and this year I'm trying out veggies beyond tomatoes and peppers, but even with most things planted, I have no idea what to expect for results. Would you all be open to creating full lists of your favorite veggies? Preferably only offering suggestions for vegetables that you've tried a few varieties of? Better still, add just a few words about why you like it so much.

For instance, last year I grew several normal and cherry tomato varieties. I might have the following list:

Tomato: Cherokee Purple-unbeatable flavor

Cherry Tomato: Sungold-Irresistibly sweet, very prolific

A comprehensive list would be awesome, including everything from Asparagus to zucchini. I appreciate anyone willing to type out their responses. I know some of you grow dozens of different veggies. Also, if a list like this already exists in the forums, my apologies, but I couldn't find it.

Thanks,

Brett-CpG

Comments (5)

• Joe1980
    12 years ago

I started a small garden, because I got sick of container growing peppers, both green and hot. But, as anyone will agree with, once you start a small one, it isn't long before you expand. Now, I grow quite a few things, although not tons. For the record, everything I grow is Burpee.

Kohlrabi: I LOVE the "early white vienna" type. It has the classic cabbage flavor to me, with a sweetness to it. My absolute favorite veggie.

Peas: I grow "super sugar snap" en masse. This variety seems to yield better then the regular sugar snap. They are sweet, and the whole family likes them.