Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
parmajon_gw

Mistakes for New Gardener to Avoid

ParmaJon
12 years ago

Hello, I am new to the forum and new to gardening and to growing in the pacific northwest, However I have spent two season on small CSA veg farms recently.

From poking around gardening books and forums, it seems that gardening is quite a bit different than farming. Mostly because if I only plant a few tomato plants, I have too care a lot more about each of those plants than if I plant four 350 ft rows of tomatoes. I am also new to year round gardening such as is possible here in mild Oregon.

So, my first question to the forum is this: what troubles should I most avoid in my first year as a gardener? I know a fair bit about pest and disease management from my farm work, also I can manage those sorts of problems as they arise (assuming proper care has been taken in planning). I am most concerned right now with what people here have found their biggest problems as gardeners [i]that they have control over[/i] i.e. not weather or pest related. Does that question make since? I hope it does, for me the biggest thing right now seems to be planning succession schedules so that I can be producing food all year. Thanks for your responses and happy growing.

Comments (36)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Hi and welcome! If you type 'newbie' in the search bar you'll get tons of great discussions to read if interested.

One of the best discussions was named "101 things for newbie gardeners to avoid" and I'll see if I can dig it up for you.

Here is a good one about tomatoes.

I am most concerned right now with what people here have found their biggest problems as gardeners

1. maintaining consistent soil moisture levels and avoiding over-watering in the process. Most of us way over-water and so create shallow rooted, water dependent plants.