Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mdutton_gw

Help with layout of 8x8 raised beds?

MDutton
10 years ago

Hello!

This is my first year growing vegetables "in the ground"... I've always grown in containers on my patio or balcony. We just purchased a home with a big 8x8 raised bed in the back yard, so I'm eager to ditch containers and plant in the ground.

From what I understand, taller plants (like tomatoes) should be on the north side of the garden... But I've also heard that rows should run north-south... Which confuses me a bit. Maybe I'm just over-thinking it...

I really want to grow tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, and some zucchini/squash... I want lots of tomatoes, so probably two rows. (16 plants) I also plan on putting a path somewhere in the middle, to make it easy to are for.

Does anyone else grow in such large beds? Any tips/resources?

Thanks in advance!

Comments (9)

• ltilton
    10 years ago

The path will be necessary to work in a bed of that size.

The problem is that 8x8 isn't really a lot of room, not for all the plants you envision. A single zucchini plant would easily take up a quarter of the space. 16 tomato plants would take up the whole space.

Dividing the space into quarters, 4x4 minus the path space, you could do one with, say, 4 tomato plants, one with peppers, one with eggplant, one with a zuke.

• ltilton
    10 years ago

duplicate

This post was edited by ltilton on Mon, Mar 31, 14 at 21:26

• nancyjane_gardener
    10 years ago

From what I understand, taller plants (like tomatoes) should be on the north side of the garden... But I've also heard that rows should run north-south

Yes on the taller being on the North side, but I don't think so on the rows being N-S.