Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gaetanol

Starting corn indoors?

gaetanol
16 years ago

This is my first year trying corn in my garden. I believe I have a nice spot for it (full sun). I am in zone 6 (a northern suburb of New York City). I wasn't sure if there would be any advantage to starting the seed indoors. If so, how many weeks before transplanting should I start?

Any thouhgts on this are appreciated.

Thanks,

Guy

Comments (27)

• sergio35
    16 years ago

denninmi,
    I was going to disagree with you but then I remember that everyone says you should start tomatoes indoors and not direct seeding, yet I always direct seed them. So I guess if it works for you then do it.

• barbe_wa
    16 years ago

I start mine in little pots I make from newspaper, but I start them outside in mini-greenhouses by the winter-sowing method - only later, usually in late April or early May. Up here in the great northwest, our soil stays too cool and wet in the spring to ensure good germination early enough to get a crop before the cool, wet days of fall. The paper pots go right into the ground when the plants are 3 to 4 inches tall so the roots aren't disturbed.

• ruthieg__tx
    16 years ago

If I lived in a more northern state I might ...but truthfully I just don't know why anyone would when corn will start germinating like overnight...

• babyblueyonder
    16 years ago

Hmmm... maybe I will try it this year. My corn got off to a really slow start last year but I've always heard not too transplant corn. 3 weeks ahead or so you said? So I could use my small cell trays after transplanting out lettuce and beets and the timing would work out pretty well. I guess it can't hurt to experiment, huh?

• midnightgardener
    16 years ago

You can start corn indoors, just be careful with the root system when transplanting it to the garden. If possible, transplant it on a cloudy day or in the evening and then give it a good watering and it should do fine.