Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Leggy Cauliflower seedlings

Posted by sakhiya 6b(PA) (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 12, 09 at 22:28

Hi!

I started my Cauliflower in my basement close to a window on 02/17 and saw the seedlings sprout by 02/21. I've moved them to a regular room temperature greenhouse on 02/27 and the greenhouse is placed near a south facing window. While the seedlings have grown, they still do not give out any 'true' leaves. And the main stem is considerably long(see picture). This is my first time sprouting cauliflower, is this normal? If not what should I have done to avoid this. Forgot to mention that the same is the case with my cabbage that is started and seen sprouting and moved to greenhouse on the same dates as cauliflower. Please advise.
Just to make sure I get enough cauliflower, I started 5 more pellets with Cauliflower seeds today in the greenhouse.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Leggy Cauliflower seedlings

Here is the picture...not as perfect as I would have liked it to be, but to give you an idea of how tall they have grown.
Leggy Cauliflower

o

Sorry, no it is not normal. Your seedlings are starved for light and as the many discussions here and on the Growing from Seed forum show, it just isn't possible to grow healthy seedlings using only window light. It just isn't intense enough nor full spectrum enough nor long enough exposure this time of year. That is why most all of us use various types of fluorescent light set-ups. This time of year we even have to use supplemental lighting in the commercial greenhouses.

In this case enclosing them in a sort of plastic greenhouse only reduces the light exposure more. I'd suggest a review of the FAQs on the Growing from Seed forum and have linked one on lighting below.