Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
akowaleski

Heat tolerant/loving squash

akowaleski
16 years ago

I live in Florida, and am interested in growing squashes in my vegetable garden this summer. However, I am a college student away from home and will not be able to start any seeds until about April 28. (I have a way to transport them home from college)

Florida is obviously quite hot and humid in the summer, a less than ideal condition for many squash.

What varieties do you veteran gardeners recommend for me to grow in Florida? I know that C. Moschatas are generally more heat tolerant, but do you have any specific varieties that work well. Also, I would like to grow some more traditional pepo pumpkins. Are there any of them that are heat loving or at least heat tolerant?

Many thanks.

Comments (28)

• carolync1
    16 years ago

I don't think it would be a good idea for you to try to take squash seedlings home from school. Squashes suffer more than most vegetables from transplant shock. They are even stunted by a little collar in the soil to protect against cutworms. You would likely do better starting them in the ground at home. I sometimes transplant squashes started in "root trainers" before they get true leaves, which works O.K.

I can't say that planting squashes in late April is a good idea in the hotter parts of Floriday, but you might try Tahitian, which is a very large squash. It has a long maturity date which would allow you to harvest in cooler weather (unless you don't care if the squashes ripen while it's still hot). Argonaut is another big C. moschata squash with a long maturity date.