Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbie_gardener

cucumber leaves starting to curl with yellowing and papery feel

Newbie-gardener
9 years ago

hello there gardening newbie here. My cucumber seedlings we're doing great for a while but now the leaves have become curled, yellow ish, and papery. On the underside of the leaves are some black spots and I am unsure if they are aphids. If anyone could lend some insight in saving my seedlings that would be highly appreciated. I planted them in pro mix seed starter.

Comments (8)

• Newbie-gardener
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Its underside.

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Would need a much closer picture to ID aphids or the black spots.for sure but my best guess based on the pic is mold spores and over-watering.

The edges of the leaves and the yellowing color indicates root rot from soil kept too wet and it sure appears wet in the pic. Overly wet soil without adequate air circulation in the area generates mold growths. Peat pots are notorious for causing over-water issues.

But knowing your location would also help - that's why a space is provided for that info. :) If that is snow outside the window then not only is it too early for cukes to be seeded but it is too cool by far and it could easily be too cool by that window.

Dave

• geosankie
    9 years ago

I agree with Dave. Those darn peat pots kill more plants.

• noreen32
    9 years ago

According to your profile info, you are in Canada, which means it would be too early and too cold to have cucumbers growing. And I also agree that the peat pots are a terrible invention.

• Newbie-gardener
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I'm in Vancouver, Canada so (thankfully) that is not snow, just my patio siding. It has been sunny and close to 20 degrees celcius as of late.

They are indeed in peat pots - and here I thought they were a great idea! "No transplant shock" they said.. Oy vey.