Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
njitgrad

organic liquid fertilizer

njitgrad
9 years ago

In another thread I learned that Dyna-Gro is not an organic liquid fertilizer. Can anyone recommend one that is?

Comments (6)

• howelbama
    9 years ago

fish hydrolysate... something like Neptune's Harvest... way better than the emulsified fish.

FWIW, Dyna-Gro is not bad, it's just synthetic. I would be more concerned about pesticides and herbicides when it comes to "organic" gardening.

Also, just because something is organic doesn't automatically mean it's any safer than something that is synthetic and/or chemical.

• njitgrad
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the input. I'm new to fertilizers so I have a ton of questions. First.. what ingredient(s) in Dyna-Gro Foliage Pro would an organic gardener have an issue with and why?

• howelbama
    9 years ago

Not really sure.. maybe EDTA. Synthetic ferts are in the form that the plant needs and are ready to be taken up by the roots and used. Organic ferts need to be broken down by soil organisms before the roots can take them up and use them. In the end, the plant does not know the difference. Organics can be used in containers, but it is generally better attempted in very large (20 gallon or more) containers that can support the proper environment for the required soil food web to survive.

I would not take issue with eating veggies grown with synthetic ferts, I do however refuse to eat any plants that have been doused with things like Sevin or other chemical pesticides.

Most commercial lettuces in the grocery stores are grown hydroponically using synthetic ferts, probably something very similar to Dyna Gro.

The thing to watch out for with any fertilizer, synthetic or organic, is the heavy metal content. Just make sure you are buying a reputable product that lists the contents and provides data on the metals it contains.

Personally, in the containers you are using, I would stick to something synthetic.