Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nishklepp

Contained potatoes plants dying back

nishklepp
9 years ago

My potatoes were planted March 4th. They grew like weeds. Faster than anything else in my garden then suddenly I noticed last week the inner plants were dying back. They started turning yellow. I blamed it on the plant growing so large that the inner leaves weren't getting any sunlight but as days went on, the problem grew worse and worse to the point where I know think something else might be wrong with the plants. I try not to over water. I do live in Florida though where it rains every few days. I make sure to look at the weather and not water a day or two before if I know it's going to rain soon. I check the soil 1inch deep to see how wet it is too. I've been known to over water so I have to keep myself in check haha. The plant to the left is fine. They get the same amount of care and both are in the same size container. Anyways, this is my first time growing potatoes (or any veggies). Could anyone give me some advice on what the cause my be or what I can do? Thank you in advance :)

{{gwi:39096}}

Comments (6)

• elisa_z5
    9 years ago

What kind of potatoes did you plant? Early potato varieties often mature in 60 days, so in that case your potatoes would be doing exactly what they should be doing at this point. They die back when they're done.

You can harvest some new potatoes any time, or wait until the tops are completely dried up, and then you'll know your spuds are as big as they're going to get, and the skins will be somewhat cured (for storage help.)

If what you planted was more of a 90 day potato, then maybe someone else will have an idea what is making them die back early. Either way, you probably have some potatoes in there.

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Agree that it depends on the variety and are they the same variety in the other container?

Otherwise overly wet soil or the lack of proper feeding are the two most likely causes.