Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loribee2

Leaves turning white

loribee2
9 years ago

I just planted peppers and tomatoes in a bed I've been growing vegetables in for 6 years now. Like every year, I turned in steer and chicken manure into the existing soil before planting. The only new thing I did this year was heavily mulch in the hope of cutting down my watering this year (I'm in California).

I grew the plants from seed like I always do. Planted them on Saturday. This is only 3 days later and the leaves are turning white. One book says nitrogen or magnesium deficiency? Would you agree? I'm a little surprised as I thought manure was mostly nitrogen.

Could it also be just the shock of transplanting? Maybe weather too cool? I don't usually plant before May but am pretty sure we're over frost so I went ahead with it. The tomatoes in this bed are doing the same thing.

Comments (16)

• ceth_k
    9 years ago

It looks quite healthy to me? Nitrogen yellowing starts from old leaves and sulfur yellowing from new leaves.

• loribee2
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Well, they looked much healthier before I planted, LOL. The more I internet search, the more I'm thinking iron deficiency? I confess, I didn't turn in the manure as much as I normally do. Instead, I just raked it into the top inch or so of soil. Maybe too high a concentration of manure in this top layer where the young plants are planted? This bark is separated by a layer of brown paper, so I can't imagine anything in it leaching into the soil. At least not so soon.

Grrrr, every year it's something. It's a wonder I end up with the bounty I do come August.

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago

Classic case of magnesium deficiency. Water plants with an epsom salt solution (1 T per gallon).

It's possible that the bed was depleted of magnesium from cropping for six years, particularly if your native soil does not have dolomite.