Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roosemom

Are Blankets or Sheets Better for Frost?

KerenR
12 years ago

I am a newbie to vegetable gardening and already lost a whole garden to the frost we had a week or two ago. The predicted temp was only 36, and all my plants froze and were laying on the ground the next morning.

I am planning on covering my new garden next week when the temp will get down to 43. What is the best way to cover? Blankets (thick or thin), sheets, or tarps?

Comments (15)

• denninmi
    12 years ago

Well, the thicker and more insulating the better (but of course, you don't want to crush the plants underneath with the weight of it, use a support to keep it from doing that). And, it also helps a LOT to create a "dead air space" between the covering and the plants.

• sunnibel7 Md 7
    12 years ago

Don't feel too bad, there's been a lot of that going around my neck of the woods too. I don't really have anything to add to what Den said. Just a little encouragement.

• glib
    12 years ago

One of the families I garden with somehow got a plastic bubble tarp. That has to be tops for thermal insulation per pound.

• KerenR
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I have cages around my plants, and my seeds haven't sprouted. Is that enough support for blankets and dead air space? Is it okay to use blankets and sheets? I have a 400 square foot garden, so I might have to use both. Are tarps out then?

I'm sorry for all of the questions. I just really don't want to loose all my plants again so soon. They've only been in the ground for 3 days.

Thanks for the encouragement. I guess every experience is a learning one, huh?

• keski
    12 years ago

You really don't want plastic touching the plants. Cloth is better. Newspaper works well, too.
    Keski

• Edymnion
    12 years ago