Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Vidalia or sweet onions here in New England?

Posted by mmqchdygg Z5NH (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 13, 09 at 10:53

I see yellow onions, and red ones, but I don't recall seeing a sweet onion or Vidalia. Is there such a thing as growing them here in NE, or are they limited to south of here? I tried onions from seed last year, and that was a waste of time. Can I grow these from grocery store onions, or are there ones in the feed stores? Sorry, onion newbie here.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Vidalia or sweet onions here in New England?

• Posted by anney Georgia 8 (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 13, 09 at 11:04

mmqchdygg

Vidalias and many sweet yellow onions do grow only in the South, but that does not mean you can't grow great onions in New Hampshire.

You folks in New Hampshire must grow long day onions. Alisa Craig looks like a sweet long-day onion, and there are several red ones.

Dixondale Farms (in the links above) is a premier supplier of onion transplants. I'm not sure if your time for planting them is over, but if you put in your zip code, the shipping dates for your area will display.

And no, the grocery store onions can't be planted to make bigger ones! Local feed stores may certainly have long-day onions that will grow well in your area.

o

Anney gave you very good advice above.

Another onion, also carried by Dixondale, which makes a very large onion with the POTENTIAL to be sweet, up here in the north, is Wala Wala. Those and the Alisa Craigs were my largest and sweetest onions last year. I had quite a few of both well over a lb, and some must have been approaching 2 lbs (although I didn't weigh any of them).