Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to thin lettuce seedlings

Posted by fishacura (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 29, 11 at 12:06

All, I am new to this and have planted a vegetable box garden in my yard for the first time. I am growing some romain from seeds. The seed packed said to thin to 3-4 inches. Is this enough space in between plants to grow full heads? Just want to make sure I am understanding the terminology and wanted some advice also. I have 2 rows of seeds that are 5 feet long and about 18 inches apart.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to thin lettuce seedlings

Great question! I'll await an answer, also. I was planting my lettuce seeds and the wind picked up and sprayed seeds all over! Now I have tiny little lettuce seedlings EVERYWHERE...and I don't want to hurt them! :-)

o

Final spacing should be 12" apart in all directions. Since your rows are 18" apart, you can probably get away with 10" apart in the row.

You can keep them at 4" apart when they are little, but when they get a few inches tall and they start to fill in the area, thin them to one plant per 12". The thinnings will be a tender treat. Think of it as an early harvest.

I know it can be hard to pull perfectly healthy growing seedlings, we want them all to get a chance to grow to full size - but be firm! You will have much better results if the plants are not crowded.

o

Potterhead2's answer is very good. In addition to that, lettuce can be transplanted to better locations when it is 2 or 3 inches tall. That is the one reason I decided to start it in flats. I get nice uniform rows.

Jim

o

Well, romain doesn't really form "heads" It's a cut and come again type lettuce. I pick 2-3 leaves of each kind of lettuce for a salad for the 2 of us.
I just sprinkle my mesclun mix around the box I'm growing them in and thin them as they sprout if they are too close together.