Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susieqqq_gw

Cucumber leaves turning yellow

susieqqq
14 years ago

I'm pretty new to gardening and this year I decided to start my plants indoors from seed. So far so good, but in the last week all 3 of my cucumber plants have their bottom 2 leaves starting to turn yellow. These are not the cotyledons leaves (which already started to shrivel so I pinched them off about 1 week ago).

What might I be doing wrong? I have tomatoes that are doing great and a zucchini & melon plants that are doing well. I transfered the seedlings about a month ago from the seed sprouting trays to 4 inch cowpots and have them under a grow light I borrowed from a cousin.

I thought maybe I was overwatering because it's hard to tell with the cowpots. This past week I just put a fan on them to help with air ciruculation.

Any other ideas what I might be doing wrong and how to fix this? Should I cut off the wilting leaves? I have photos I could post, but am new to this forum and haven't figured this out yet.

Any help would greatly be appreciated!

Sue

Comments (7)

• organicislandfarmer
    14 years ago

nitrogen helps with the color, you fertilizing? Overwatering washes nuits out of the soil.

• anney
    14 years ago

susieqq

You probably ARE watering them too much. I don't think the cowpots are as hard on seedlings as peat pots, but in both cases you need to not overwater them. Can you check on how wet the soil is a couple of inches beneath the soil surface? If the top is dry but it's damp a couple of inches down, you don't need to water yet.