Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
prairiemoon2

Vertical Support Construction Questions

Raised beds are almost finished and the next project is vertical supports. The photo below is basically what I am considering building. I wondered if anyone had used something like this before and if they had any pros and cons to share?

Also this photo had no instructions for building, so we are just trying to guess what materials and construction methods we would use. I'm trying to first find a galvanized wire mesh that approximates the one in the photo. So far I found galvanized wire fencing at an Agway that has a 2 inch by 4 inch mesh opening in a 16 gauge wire that comes in different heights. Or they have one with a 2 inch x 3 inch mesh opening.

I've had very little experience growing vertically. Bamboo tripods and a nylon mesh are the extent of it. I would want something that would allow string beans, peas, squashes, cucumbers all to climb the supports, so is there any need for a certain size opening for growing any of those crops vertically? I guess I would lean toward the larger opening, for some reason.

Then I imagine we'd use 1" by 4" wood to build the frame and staple the wire mesh to the frame and hinge it at the top. I'm thinking of making them 8ft high to allow string beans to climb to the top. We will have a 17ft long bed to fit them into, so I'm thinking of using 5ft high wire mesh and make the frames that width. Or I could go with 6ft high wire mesh.

Would love any input you might have...

Comments (25)

• moiraine_gw
    9 years ago