Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
10-10-10 fertilizer dilution

Posted by badmajon GA (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 16, 11 at 14:08

Hi, I'm new to gardening but I read that I should fertilize my garden regularly (every three weeks or so). When I tilled my garden I worked 10-10-10 fertilizer into the soil. Can I dilute this stuff in water and spray directly onto the plants for regular fertilization? If so, what ratio should I use? How much per plant in terms of liquid volume?

I have tomatoes, eggplant, bell pepper and jalepenos in my garden, not to mention some collard greens.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: 10-10-10 fertilizer dilution

I read that I should fertilize my garden regularly (every three weeks or so).

Did this source say why you should have to fertilize it so much? And did it address the importance of timing those applications with the fruit set on fruiting plants?

I think it is safe to say that very few gardeners whose soil is well amended or who use granular fertilizers would apply it that often. Perhaps with diluted liquid supplements but not granular.

But if you wish fertilize that much to then most granular 10-10-10 fertilizer is not water soluble so no, that won't work. The only way granular fert can be applied in a "diluted" form is just to apply 1/2 as much per row or sq. foot (whichever the label directions give you) than is called for on the label. Or you can side dress each plant or row with 1/2 the label amount.

So what specific brand or type of fertilizer are we talking about?

Dave

o