Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryhm_gw

Transplanting Green Beans

maryhm
15 years ago

I am completely new to gardening, so please forgive me for any dumb questions. I started a bunch of vegetables in those Jiffy Peat Pellets. My green beans are now 6" high and I want to move them to 4" pots, where they'll stay in the greenhouse until I can put them into the ground in another month. Problem is, I put 3 seeds per pellet, not expecting them all to germinate, but they did. The instructions say to thin the plants to only one, but the roots are really intertwined and I don't want to kill them. Is it ok to have 3 plants in the same hole in the ground (eventually), or do I have to thin them. If I have to thin them, what's the best way to get them out of the pellets without harming the roots?

Comments (14)

• denninmi
    15 years ago

It's definitely OK to have 3 plants in one planting hole. I always do about 3 beans in each cell when I sow them in flats in my greenhouse, and these are usually either 48's or 72's, so they're not big cells. They do just fine when crowded -- you'll get plenty of green beans.

• marshallz10
    15 years ago

Beans are better handled with minimum disturbance of the root ball. They often sulk and do poorly if uprooted and moved too. Just plant the group of seedlings. You might space each group a few inches further apart to compensate for crowding within the group.

• paulc_gardener
    15 years ago

First of all, green beans are normally planted direct in the garden. You will have a problem with harvest with three in one spot. My guess is that in one month before going in the ground that many won't survive. One plant 6 inches apart is good spacing for easier harvest.

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    15 years ago

I plant green beans in double rows about 4 inches apart. Beans about 2 inches apart in the row. Starting beans inside is a lot of extra work for not much return.

• marshallz10
    15 years ago