Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nickrosesn

Transplanted Onions

Nick Rose
9 years ago

I started Walla Walla Onions last October from seeds in the garden and last week took them out of the ground and transplanted them in a different part of the garden to make room for my corn. Its been about a week and they look sick. Will they recover? I cut of the tops and thats where the yellow tips are and I did nothing with the roots. This is my first time with onions so I hope they recover.

{{gwi:42331}}

{{gwi:42332}}

Comments (17)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

Sure look like they could use same water but otherwise they look fairly ok. Maybe a little deep but you can brush the soil away form them as the bulbs begin to form Planting onions too deep is a common mistake but fixable.

Looks like you maybe ran a hoe down to create a valley for planting? Plants on the raised ridges, not the valleys showing in your photo next time and as the bulbs form the soil just falls away into the valley.

Water and lots of fertilizer. And next year go for a short day variety instead or at least one of the Intermediate varieties. Walla Walla is a long-day variety that grows best in the north, not in CA if you want decent bulb size.

Dave

• ltilton
    9 years ago

They look like they might use some water.

• Nick Rose
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I have been watering them almost everyday. I did put in Blood meal, Fish Bone Meal and Kelp. If I remember correctly I think there is just a 1" or less of soil above the roots.

What is the best onion for this area that can give me good size bulbs? I thought the manager at Golden Nursery knew what he was talking about. I asked him what was a good onion to grow around here and he said Walla Walla.

• digdirt2
    9 years ago