Return to the Vegetable Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
PLEASE, I need help with my vegetable garden!!!

Posted by Tashax0x New Jersey (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 20, 12 at 16:48

So I am a complete and total Newbie to gardening. This is my first year starting a garden. I live by the theory "Go BIG or go home", so I've made my garden approximately 19'x70'... My boyfriend says I'm crazy for starting out so big... But I figured if I'm gonna take the time to make a garden, I might as well get a lot of produce out of it, lol.

We built a greenhouse about 8'x14'. It's a wooden framed building covered in plastic with a small fan for ventilation. I live in zone 6B (New Jersey). I probably jumped the gun on some of the plants but I've already planted a ton of fruits and vegetables. They are mostly planted in 6"-10" pots. I used a combination of potting soil and alpaca manure (I've heard it doesn't burn up plants).

I need all the advice I can get!!!! PLEASE help me produce a wonderful garden. I really would appreciate any, and I mean any, bit of your gardening knowledge.

I am keeping a Log of all my plants and their growth on this website: https://sites.google.com/site/tashasvegetablegarden/

I am growing: Artichokes, Basil, Beans, Blueberries, Broccoli, Cantaloupe, Cilantro, Corn, Cucumbers, Eggplant, Green onions, Parsley, Sweet Peppers, Snow peas, Summer Squash, Strawberry's, Sunflowers, Tomatoes, and Watermelon.

I know I've probably already made a ton of mistakes.
SO PLEASE HELP ME WITH MY VEGETABLE GARDEN!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: PLEASE, I need help with my vegetable garden!!!

Here are some questions that I have...

1. Did I plant any of my plants too soon, and does it matter because i have them in a greenhouse?

2. How often should I be watering my plants? I've heard once every other day for 30min. to and hour, but that just doesn't seem like enough. I have a watering system set up... I just don't know how often to set the timer for.