Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mosquitogang201

Please help this newbie diagnose bean and cucumber plants

mosquitogang201
9 years ago

I had some leftover topsoil from another project which I used to raise up a garden area. So far only beans and cucumbers have come up and they are not looking too well. Can you help diagnose them? To my untrained eye this looks like weed killer damage, which could have only come with the soil. My neighbors do not spray and the straw in the pictures is alfalfa. But I'm also a newbie so don't know a whole lot about gardening.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments (17)

• mosquitogang201
    Original Author
    9 years ago

These first two were transplants

• CaraRose
    9 years ago

What zone are you?

The plant looks relatively healthy to me.

• mosquitogang201
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The last two were directly sown

This post was edited by mosquitogang201 on Thu, Apr 17, 14 at 17:14

• mosquitogang201
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I'm in zone 8, middle of Georgia.

• CaraRose
    9 years ago

The transplants look good to me. The seedlings, not great.

Are you sure that the alfalfa might not have been sprayed? What's the weather been like?

• mosquitogang201
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Is it normal for bean leaves to grow assymetrically like the first two pictures? Maybe I'm expecting too much perfection from nature. The weather has been relatively nice lately. We had one night this week drop down to the mid 30's, but the seedlings were looking rough before that. I started about 15 beans in potting soil which all came up nice, but of the 20 or so that have sprouted in the topsoil, at least half have looked like the picture or even come up with no leaves. Alfalfa's a legume so I'd assume broadleaf weed killers would not be in it but who knows.

• little_minnie
    9 years ago

Once in a while a seedling will come up ugly like that. The rest look fine. I wouldn't worry too much yet.

• seysonn