Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mmhm_gw

NPK Fertilizer mixing

mmhm
10 years ago

Ok I am new to mixing up fertilizer in terms of making N-P-K.

I bought:

1. Urea Nitrogen Fertilizer 46-0-0 Granular

2. Monoamonium Phosphate Fertilizer (MAP) 11-52-0

http://www.ebay.com/itm/FERTILIZER-20-LB-MONOAMMONIUM-PHOSPHATE-MAP-11-52-0-LAWN-GARDEN-FOOD-PLOT-/321370824878?pt=Fertilizer_Soil_Amendments&hash=item4ad331a0ae

3.Potash 0-0-60 Potassium Fertilizer

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Potash-0-0-60-Potassium-Fertilizer-20-lbs-lawn-garden-plant-food-plot-wildlife-/221409600361?pt=Fertilizer_Soil_Amendments&hash=item338d0a6369

If I mix all these 3 same amount like 1lb from each, will I get N-P-K = 57:52:60 ?

With this combination, what amount ( lb or gm or tsp ) I should mix with per gallon of water to get 28.6 : 26 : 30 to get plat food for my garden ?

Thank You

Comments (17)

• lexusnexus
    10 years ago

Not being a chemist I rather doubt it's that easy. Probably a lot more involved in the calculations.

• lexusnexus
    10 years ago

As a follow up, how are those percentages calculated? By weight or volume? If by weight then you are going to have to factor that in.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Agree the math is off but why would you want to use 28.6- 26-30 for your garden??? Is this a result of a soil test?

That is horrendously strong fertilizer. Don't the bags have any dilution instructions on them? And why mix them? If one of them is specifically needed dilute it to the label instructions and then again by half and by half yet again. For example that would get the N down to the normal level of approx. 5. P would still be high at 6 though.

Dave

Dave

• mmhm
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Ok I am really new to fertilizer. I went to lowes and home depot and found that, they are selling miracle gro (24-8-16) all purpose food. Which is N:24% , P:8% and K:16%.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Miracle-Gro-1-5-lb-All-Purpose-Plant-Food-1001122/100081891